Who’s Out There?

 I started this blog a year after my devastating accident at the urging of a friend. I began it with the purpose of sharing my thoughts and daily journey with others who either face or are wondering about how I’m doing on my Road to Recovery. Writing is therapeutic for me as well. I have been astounded by the number of people from literally across the world who have read the blog and taken a peek into our world. I say our because spinal cord injuries impact the lives of family and also close friends. They are the ones who step in to help when I cannot step. They help for the many crucial work-arounds as I call the methods to help with functions from my T-6 injury point on down that no longer operate.

Maybe you, like me, also wonder, “Who’s out there?” Well, there have been readers from all the continents except Antartica! There have been readers from 45 different countries. Those are humbling statistics. One thing that my husband and I had looked forward to in our retirement, that has been severely curtailed, was travel, especially international travel. How amazing it would be to visit each of the countries where others have read my blog. You’ve looked into my world; I’d love to visit your world.

Recently, there have been a great many view from Hong Kong. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a visit to Hong Kong less than ten years ago. I am intrigued by the person or people who have been reading at this time. If you have questions, want to ‘talk’ in more depth, have specific questions about other work-arounds, or need information, please contact me. If you submit a comment, I can keep it private. No one else needs to see it. I will certainly respond, again privately.

As I said many times, I have been given grace through this accident and experience. It is NOT easy; nothing about it is easy. But, I’ve been helped and supported. I’d like to help and support others.

I’ve been blessed through this experience. Watch for your blessings. Shalom, Collene

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary (Geldermans) Haven
    Aug 29, 2018 @ 16:09:46

    Hi Colleen,

    Not sure how I found your blog but it appeared one day as I was perusing the Internet. You and I were roommates at Calvin for our sophomore year. I believe we were floor monitors, or whatever noble title they gave us in those days. I remember you going off on dates with your boyfriend-now-husband.

    My husband and I are retired and we too, enjoy traveling. We are currently in north east Newfoundland, a gorgeous Canadian province. We have lived in Canada for 43 years! I would happily post a picture but it doesn’t seem posssible on this site.

    I have admired your strength and courage in this incredibly difficult journey of yours. Your blog is an encouragement for many people, I’m sure.

    Feel free to contact me at my email address.

    Take care!

    Mary

    Like

    Reply

    • FastHugs
      Aug 29, 2018 @ 16:16:21

      Mary, of course I remember you and recognized your name immediately. I think of you often and our time as resident directors or maybe that was Ginny’s title. I’ll write you later and we can catch up!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Kathy Sherman
    Aug 29, 2018 @ 19:19:44

    When I watch for my blessings, I see you, Collene.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Elly
    Aug 29, 2018 @ 20:44:12

    Keep writing! Your skills are prodigious.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment