Van Go(gh): Yesterday’s Anniversary

Yesterday marked the first year anniversary of our amazing Van Go. Because of the gifts of NMEDA and the adaptation of BraunAbility and Clock Mobility to our Toyota Sienna, we have been blessed with a year of closer to normal abilities to get in the VAN and GOgh.

In the second half of that year, I have written the manuscript of an information text (children’s book) which is written from the voice of a child in the preschool years thought HS graduation facing mobility challenges. The various children (male/female; many physical causes; all races) are tackling and accomplishing many day-to-day as well as atypical task with the attitude of “Sure, I Can.” My challenge for this summer has been to find a publisher who will take a look at this manuscript and, hopefully, decide that it is worthy of publication. I know this is a concern of parents of children who are impacted and holds a powerful message for all educators and all people who come into contact with persons with mobility challenges. (Read: everyone!!) I need an illustrator and a publisher. I know they are out there. We just need to get connected.

Just this week I learned about a young grandchild of precious friends who has one of the diseases addressed in “Sure, I Can” and will be facing mobility challenges. This is a message his parents, siblings, and those who love him need to read.

Appreciate your blessing of health. Shalom, Collene

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gail Laninga
    Nov 05, 2016 @ 22:12:15

    I have a children’s book called Close to my Heart (a guided workbook for children after a loved one dies). Publication was made possible by The Sunshine Project, Inc. and the Albert E.and Birdie W. Einstein Fund, Inc.. The book was written by Susan Foley and Regan Foley. Have I already mentioned this to you? It may be worth checking out.
    Good luck!

    Gail Laninga

    Like

    Reply

    • FastHugs
      Nov 07, 2016 @ 08:40:33

      Gail, no I was unaware of the book, authors, or publisher. I’ll be sure to check it out. It might be a self-published book but I’ll be sure to check it out. Thank you!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Elly
    Nov 05, 2016 @ 22:46:09

    Your book is important and will see circulation. I will keep my eyes open for publishers of similar books directed toward youth and persons around them.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

