A Challenge & Van Gogh: First Anniversary

Yesterday marked the first year anniversary of our amazing Van Gogh. Because of the gifts of NMEDA and the adaptation of BraunAbility and Clock Mobility to our Toyota Sienna, we have been blessed with a year of closer-to-normal abilities to get in the VAN and GOgh.

In the second half of that year, I have written the manuscript of an information text (children’s book) which is written from the voice of a child in the preschool years though HS graduation facing mobility challenges. The various, growing children (male/female; many physical causes; all races) are tackling and accomplishing many day-to-day as well as atypical tasks with the attitude of Sure, I Can. My challenge for this summer has been to find a publisher who will take a look at this manuscript and, hopefully, decide that it is worthy of publication. I know this is a concern of families of children who are impacted and holds a powerful message for all educators and all people who come into contact with persons with mobility challenges. (Read: everyone!!) I need an illustrator and a publisher. I know they are out there. We just need to get connected.

Just this week I learned about a young grandchild of precious friends who has one of the diseases addressed in Sure, I Can and will be facing mobility challenges. This is a message his parents, siblings, and those who love him need to read.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Seney
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 14:52:36

    Sure you can write a book!!! I am thrilled to hear this.
    Now for a publisher. How about Michal Taylor?? She is still involved with literacy and Reading Recovery.
    Let me know if there is something I can do.

    Like

    Reply

  2. FastHugs
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 19:12:41

    I never thought of Michal. I’ll contact her. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Elly
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 20:54:46

    Yes, there is a publisher in the future for your timely, helpful manuscript, which has a broader appeal than many would have imagined.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Kathy Sherman
    Aug 30, 2016 @ 17:39:12

    Collene, What an awesome plan! I’m really impressed. You will touch so many young lives! We have told your story to many friends, and it always fills us with humble gratitude. Yours and His, Kathy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

