Full Circle

Some of you know that I received a Local Hero Contest winner designation. Good grief, me a local hero? Mighty humbling because I really feel like it’s just me. Don’t get me wrong. We are incredibly thankful for the mobility accessible van we’ll soon have!!! I just feel like I’ve been given strength to somehow get through and face each day as it comes around again. I guess everyone hasn’t been given that strength.

I have a blog milling around in the back of my mind about ‘you never know who’s watching’ but something came up that fits that category even though that particular blog isn’t yet ready to be written.

You never know who’s watching… Early last April my sister happened to see a promotion by Clock Mobility and FOX 17 for the Mobility Awareness Month Local Hero contest. She sent me a link to the story. Even though I thought there was a mighty slim chance of actually winning such an international contest (US & Canada), gentle nudges kept me proceeding. A representative from Clock Mobility advised me to tell my story, to highlight positive and uplifting aspects of how I am making the most of my life with a disability, how I persevere, contribute, and inspire. With help from my family, I wrote my story in 400 words or less and worked to spread the word. Many family, friends, and friends of family and friends from across the US and well beyond voted. Close to 1,000 votes put me in the top 10% of the senior category, and my situation was ultimately selected. Here comes the ‘full circle.’ FOX 17 and some Clock Mobility staff came to our home and filmed a segment which aired recently. The link below will bring you to that segment. Thank you again for support from so many very remarkable people and for their votes. It couldn’t have happened without them.

http://fox17online.com/2015/07/13/holland-woman-wins-wheelchair-accessible-van-in-national-local-hero-promotion-first-from-west-michigan/

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debbidoo1
    Jul 21, 2015 @ 19:14:40

    You are definitely one of my heros! God bless you and drive safely!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Elly
    Jul 21, 2015 @ 22:40:47

    And not just a local one. Your reach expands.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Diane Hurst
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 07:07:45

    Colleen,
    It’s Diane Hurst, you were always inspiring to me but even more now. What an awesome story!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Maureen Nyhan
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 16:58:36

    Hi Collene, so glad this happened for you and your whole family. It is so very much deserved and keep on inspiring all of us.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Louise Lunski
    Jul 23, 2015 @ 09:29:48

    Hurrah for you! What a blessing God has given you and with your wonderful talent of writing, you will share your courage and story with many who feel so in need of incouragement. Enjoy your new ride!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

