The Plan

I’ve read a couple books by Judy Squier, a sister of a friend born 70 years ago with no legs. Wow, what an amazing woman she is. She pointed out a passage I know well but never applied to myself before she got me thinking. You also may know the story of the man born blind:

Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?

Neither this man nor his parents sinned,said Jesus, but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him. (John 9:2-3, NIV)

 

I clearly understood that disabilities (ok, this is about a birth defect, but I think disability also fits) were not a result of sins of the person or parents. But the second part hit me, possibly because I cannot refrain from asking why I’m paralyzed and why I’m still alive. I recently was told that the part of my skull that was fractured covers a portion of the brain that, once damaged, usually will end the person’s life. The brain stem is mighty important; I was well aware of that. So, if I’m still alive so the works of God might be displayed in me, well…

I’m speechless. … Many family members, former teachers who recommended debate class, friends, and colleagues may readily note that doesn’t happen often. Maybe I’m learning to “be still and know…” Thoughts bouncing around my mind include: whoa, scary stuff ~ now what should I do ~ is something going to open up ~ isn’t this supposed to be retirement ~ is it something I’m already doing ~ is it something I’ve already done ~ should I be wary of thunderstorms ~ does that mean the end of sitting around enjoying tea and crumpets ~ should I keep on keeping on ~ maybe it doesn’t mean DO something, everything isn’t about being task oriented ~ heady stuff ~ should I just wait and… ~ yeah, that speechless thing again ~ scary stuff.

All my reading teacher, elementary teacher, librarian, and lovers-of-children’s literature friends will recognize and love a reminder I was recently sent.

In the words of A.A. Milne, Christopher Robin’s wise counsel to Winnie the Pooh:

“Promise me youll always remember youre braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”

I think I needed that.

You’re like Christopher Robin, too! Watch for your blessings.

Shalom, Collene

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Seney
    Jun 14, 2015 @ 20:35:00

    I think you were meant to write and write so we can think about the things you write. A book may be in your future.
    So miss seeing you and we will need to schedule a visit soon.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Elly
    Jun 14, 2015 @ 20:36:12

    Ah, yes. You are braver, stronger, smarter …. You are the great blessing.

    Like

    Reply

  3. kophoff
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 08:40:16

    Love this blog, Collene. It is so inspiring and you are such a good writer. You can do so much good with this!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Barbara PH
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 14:55:17

    Thanks for sharing, Collene!

    I find strength in our together-ness – our shared spirit seeking good in the most impossible times, in desolate places, in overwhelming circumstances. Then I remember Jesus’ words “Where two or more are gathered…” Maybe the incompleteness of our lives in the world is about finding Christ among us.

    Like

    Reply

  5. debbidoo1
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 02:32:33

    This reminds me of a time when I was at church, a healing service, with my mom, who was dying of cancer. I was 30 at this time. The priest asked the five or six of us at the service what each of us thought God intended for us to be doing here on earth. Each of the older women around me said that they wished that they knew what God wanted from them or what they were put here to do. When it was my turn, I said that I guessed it was to be a friend because I thought I was pretty good at being a friend. It was such a different perspective from the other ladies, and was really a spontaneous response. I had never really given it a great deal of thought before. I do know that friends are what makes my world go ’round.

    I believe that you are displaying works of God every day. Your attitude, and your forward-looking view of the world, and your place in it, are inspiring. They make me want to be a better person. Yes, I believe you are a living work of God!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

