Good News ~ Round 2

I am excited to announce that I received an email noting that I have advanced to the semi-finalist stage of the Local Heroes contest. My submission received enough votes to make the top 10 percent of the senior category and the story is now under review by an independent selection committee.

Once the four finalists are selected, a National Mobility Equipment Dealers Association representative will contact winners. (I’m keeping my phone charged.) The winning Local Heroes will be announced via social media, MobilityAwarenessMonth.com, on national TV, as well as contacted personally on June 30th.

I was brought to tears by this email and want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for the concern, time, and votes of SO many of you. I keep hearing about friends of yours from, literally, around the world that have voted. I don’t think I’ve been a person for whom lots of possessions were important. But, if nothing else, I have learned without a doubt that PEOPLE – what we do, what we say, and how we behave – are paramount. Certainly I hope we win a van knowing it would open up my world to continue to serve and to keep Alan free of injury. However, win or lose, we are winners already because of what you have all done for us. We are grateful for the blessings you are to us.

Blessings! Shalom!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Ophoff
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 17:13:46

    Congratulations, Collene!! Now you know that you have MANY friends that will go to bat for you!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Donna Seney
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 18:38:25

    How wonderful for you. Now you have something to keep you so excited to June 30. Yes!!!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

  3. Eleanor Murray
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 19:24:20

    Lovely. U are special. Hugs

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

  4. Shirley Kleinfelter
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 21:44:06

    OMG Collene, you are a true Blessed Christian and you bring me to tears with your wonderful appreciation for everyone in your life. I love you and admire you. I really think of you so often and am so proud to be one of your friends. I look at my pussy willows on my kitchen counter every day and think of you with great admiration.

    Shirley K.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Nancy Sheets
    Jun 05, 2015 @ 11:12:09

    Yay! So happy to hear this, Collene. And thank you for a very lovely blog post.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

